I’m not scared – you just disagree with me

I am Arachniphobic. That means, of course, that I have an irrational fear of those eight legged creeps that will undoubtedly stalk my bedroom and hallways in force this Autumn. I can’t explain why I am afraid of them (hence the fear being irrational). However, I am happy to accept that it’s completely ridiculous of me to be unable to peacefully share a house with a harmless, helpless little insect.

This is why it is so frustrating when opinions which are based on calm reason and sound logic are deemed ‘Islamophobic’ or ‘Homophobic’. I’ve no doubt that there are people who have irrational fears of Muslims or homosexuals (I am not trying to justify mindless or aggressive behaviour). But what about people who have concerns and opinions on these issues, which are not impulsive jerks of the proverbial knee? It is the people who, in these situations, use the language of ‘phobia’ to demonise the disagreeing that are truly ‘phobic’. They have an irrational fear of people who have opinions that are different to their own. A phobia of those who don’t toe the ‘tolerant’ line by daring to suggest that some things are objectively right or wrong, true or false.

What should this be called? Disagreeaphobic? Conservaphobic? IdeasIdon’tlikeaphobic?

Leave a Reply

